Theta Tau Nationals


Theta Tau is a co-ed professional engineering fraternity originally founded in 1904 at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis.  The fraternity is the oldest and largest professional engineering fraternity in the United States, with chapters on over 40 campuses and over 35,000 initiated members.




Theta Tau Eta Delta Chapter

Today, the Eta Delta chapter at the University of Maryland consists of over 50 members of the James A. Clark School of Engineering, majoring in nearly all of the offered engineering disciplines.  The Eta Delta Chapter of Theta Tau focuses on the social and professional development of its members, service in the College Park and Washington D.C. communities, and involvement in the Clark School of Engineering.

In addition to being leaders inside of our fraternity, our members are leaders across other organizations throughout campus.  We have leaders in the Student Government Association, Engineering Student Council, and technical societies like IEEE, ASME, SoBE, and MCA.  Many of our members also participate in research with distinguished professors across a wide variety of engineering disciplines. Our faculty advisor, Dr. Kenneth Kiger, is the Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs for the Department of Mechanical Engineering.






Some of our members were valedictorians in high school, many receive internships at prestigious companies throughout the country (some via connections made through the fraternity), and we are well represented on the Clark School’s Dean’s List each semester.

We are constantly looking for motivated and ambitious members to join our fraternity.  If you are interested in joining, please visit our Rush Page or send an email to otpresident@umd.edu to find out more information.